Intro to Structured Access Management (SAM)

To begin using SAM, you must upgrade your existing groups to use the new structure. Before you do this, you can read more about how to use it, and what it means for your organisation.
 

Resource sets

Your old groups have now been split into two, a resource set and a group. After migration, the same name is used for both the resource set and the group, but they each serve a different purpose.


Resource sets are collections of data like logins, payment cards and secure notes.

How it previously worked How to use it now
Logins, payment cards and secure notes can be grouped together under one name (called a group). Logins, payment cards and secure notes can be grouped together under one name (called a resource set).
Employees are added as members, and can access all data with the same permissions.

It's not possible to be a member of a resource set. Instead, employees can be added to groups and assigned access to resource sets.

Each group can have their own permissions, and access the same data with different rights.

 

Groups

Groups now refer solely to people. Groups can have access to multiple resource sets, and administrators can define permissions for each group.

 

Different groups can have different permissions for the same resource set. 

Group name Description Resource set name Permissions
Management Department managers, team leads, etc. HR Resources Can view, edit, copy, add and delete data.
HR department HR staff. HR Resources Can only view data.

 

The same group can have different permissions for different resource sets.

Group name Description Resource set name Permissions
IT Admins IT administrators IT Services Can view, edit, copy, add and delete data.
Management Department managers, team leads, etc. IT Services Can only view data.

 

Upgrade existing groups

To use the new system, you need to upgrade your existing groups to support Structured Access Management (SAM).

This can be done via the Uniqkey Admin Portal here, and is a one time update. All groups are upgraded at the same time, and data stored within will remain intact.

Users will not be notified of any changes.

 

At the top of the Admin Portal, click Upgrade groups.

 

A confirmation window will be shown, and once you're ready, click Continue to upgrade your groups.

To ensure a smooth transition to the new structure, we use the Trusted Portal feature during the upgrade. You don't need to enable this separately, simply open the Uniqkey mobile app and approve it.

Once the request has been approved in the Uniqkey mobile app, the upgrade will begin.

 

Once the groups have been upgraded, a confirmation window will be shown.

 

 

 

In case of errors

If specific groups can't be migrated, you'll see an error screen.

Nothing was lost: groups that weren't migrated are still available, and you can try again. If the problem persists, share the details with our Support team via support@uniqkey.eu and we'll help.